Belema

images
Source- http://www.mysundaysermons.com 

Tamie endures long and is patient and kind..
Tamie never is envious nor boils over with jealousy..
Tamie is not boastful or vainglorious..
Tamie does not display herself haughtily ..
She is not conceited (arrogant and inflated with pride )..
She is not rude (unmannerly) and does not act unbecomingly..
Tamie (with God’s love in her ) does not insist on her own rights or her own way, for she is not self seeking ..
She is not touchy or fretful or resentful..
She takes no account of the evil done to her ( she pays no attention to a suffered wrong)..
She does not rejoice at injustice and unrighteousness , but rejoices when right and truth prevail ..
She bears up under anything and everything that comes , is ever ready to believe the best of every person..
Her hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and she endures everything without weakening ..
Tamie’s Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end].

1st cor 13:4-8a (AMP)

  Its the ‘Love weekend’ with valentine’s day by the corner. Yeah, we all know (am assuming) that love shouldnt only be celebrated or shown on just one day of the year. Love is a moment to moment lifestyle.

1st Cor 13 is the popular love passage and I can’t count how many times I’ve read it. I’m sure you’ve also come across it too.  Recently I saw that passage in another light courtesy a dp from a bbm contact. The story was about a young girl who had a crush on someone and an older lady was advising her to look at the guy through the eyes of this passage by replacing the word Love in the passage with his name. I did that for myself and as I was reading I was just smh!! I was just seeing how wayo my love has been. Chai! I feel short in a number of places. I know I am not perfect but I didn’t expect that extent of my shortcomings. Good thing I can see clearly now. So my work is laid out for me. 

N2S : I should print it out and paste somewhere I would always see it. 

With the excitement and buzz about love this period It felt fitting for me to reflect on my love walk…love for my God and King , my self love, my love for Tee, my love for my family , my friends, my enemies (bible says we should love them rite? matt 5:44).

I love Love…and maybe i could describe myself as a shy romantic. Love is beautiful and meant to be shared meaningfully.

Want to love better? Go to the source. God. 

Dear Friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God.  But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

(1st John 4:7-8)

I can do better in my love walk. I am willing to do better.

You? How’s your love walk? 

I love you. Yes you!

Happy Valentine! 

Tamie…

******

Belema : Means/Translates Love

Origin : Okrika language

Funfact : After my own okrika name, its my next favorite name in the world. Its unisex so one of my son or daughter would def rock it.

What’s love in your language? 

18 thoughts on “Belema”

  1. Hey Tee,
    I admire & respect d honesty in dat self-assessment bck dre. I think we find Love wen we find our Truth. Luvly piece.
    Btw, I agree so much wv d ‘wayo’ bit 😉
    A e belema me Mie…Happy Valentine

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A few days ago I saw a post on facebook by a member of a NGO known for charity works. They had a number of charity stuffs lined up for this valentine. As I was going thru the post this scripture on ‘Belema’ in 1cor 13 came to my heart so I decided to read it one more time. Just like you did, I tried replacing ‘Belema’ with my name ‘Daso’ and as I did that, I realized just how far from the mark I was. How many times have we said those three words ‘I love you’ when in fact we were far off the mark.
    I have said that love is not that emotion we feel that makes us all soft and all nice. 1 thing I learned from 1cor 13 is that there is a difference between acts of love or showing love and having love. Most times what we do is show love, it doesn’t mean we have it. After all u can pretend to be some1 u are not, it doesn’t mean u are what you say or show you are. And so often times we find people who thought they were loved feeling betrayed by the very people who once said ‘I love you’ to them.
    The truth is you were showed ‘love’, but he/she never had love cos love never fails.
    Like you said Tamie, to have love, you need to go to the source, God.
    Love for God, makes love for man possible. Like John tells us, you can’t love God who you don’t see and hate your brother who you see (1Jhn 4:20). If you can love what you haven’t seen then loving what you can see becomes easy.
    For every guy that is into a relationship or is looking to go into one, you need to understand that the number 1 thing you need is not the right lady, what you need is Eden, God’s presence. It’s in His presence you cultivate the 1cor 13 kind of love for your lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And he says he can’t write!!
      This is a fantastic and rightly put addition to the post. And I do agree that there is a difference between acts of love and having love. Sometimes the ‘acts of love’ can be a ruse, done under a guise..and giving off wrong impressions.
      Reading this scripture again , opened my eyes to the love I have and the love am showing.
      Thanks for stopping by Mr L.

      Like

Leave a Reply

