She’s Sister!

Sister!

[See-Es-Tah]

A number of people found it odd that I called you that. I didn’t. I grew up with it and It was all I knew.

Then I got into secondary school and became acquainted with the M word.

Mummy.

I remembered trying it a few times and it felt odd, strange, distant. Hahaha, it left no taste. Of course it was back to Sister! My norm. My warmth.

I miss hearing you call me girlie.. I know you feel like I’m all grown now and you calling me that might embarrass me (there has never been anyone so mindful of not wanting to hurt my feelings like you). I love those moments when you unconsciously  slip back and call me that. It makes my heart dance.

Girlie ma ehh

I hear it, like yesterday.

One look at my bed reminds me that I’m yours. Hahaha. That’s aside the million other things we have in common.

Caring. Considerate. Loving. Lovely. Great personality. Quiet. Gentle. Prayer warrior of life.

You’re just awesome. .

I don’t say it enough I know, but I love you to the moon and back.

Ibinyingibo.

The Lord bless you and keep you. The Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious unto you. The Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace. Now and always. Amen.

I love you Sister.

Your girlie-ma.

*****************

PS : As I grew up,  I got to know it was pretty common in those days  for children (of rivers ijaw heritage)  to call their mothers Sisi, Sister,  Aunty,  or some vernacular variant.  It’s not as  common anymore.  In the estate where I grew up 90% referred to their mother with one of the above.

PPS : I also got to find out that my mum’s actually stemmed from the fact that she was a nurse (Nursing Sister). Every family member,  every one who knows her from her side of the family and village as a whole calls her Sister.

8 thoughts on “She’s Sister!”

  1. Awww this is such a beautiful read, Tamie!
    There’s nothing like a bond with mom.
    Has your “Sister” read this yet? I think you should send it to her and let her read the words that flow from your heart.
    P.S Thanks for stopping by my blog, dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really nice one Tamie! You call your mom sister woah nice too!

    The one i don’t really get is when someone calls his mum ‘auntie’ while calling other women ‘mummy’ i still really don’t get, this is especially among the Ogoni tribe of Rivers state, don’t k ow if you’ve observed that.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Goody,
      Lol..
      I call my mum’s younger sister mummy. Actually that’s what everyone in my immediate family calls her.
      I haven’t noticed it among the ogoni’s tho.

      Like

Leave a Reply

