I grew up in an Anglican family.  Both parents were choristers in their prime and loved hymns. Growing up all I wanted was to join the choir too, not just any choir but the village choir. They were good!  They always came tops in competitions. That never happened.  I was never home long enough to attend enough rehearsals.

I grew up loving hymns, psalms, Canticles (my favorite was Venite-From Ps 95).

Hymns aren’t a regular part of service where I worship now but from time to time  I still reach for my hymnal and sing some songs.  I think my fav hymn section are those used during communion. There is just something soul touching about them. They make me reflect on Jesus, the passover,  the gift of the new covenant (the communion).

There are two which were my very favorites..even after I ‘left’ The Anglican Communion and didn’t hear them often I still sang them.

 

I HUNGER AND I THIRST

I hunger and I thirst;
Jesus, my manna be:
ye living waters, burst
out of the rock for me.

Thou bruised and broken Bread,
my life-long wants supply;
as living souls are fed,
O feed me, or I die.

Thou true life-giving Vine,
let me thy sweetness prove;
renew my life with thine,
refresh my soul with love.

Rough paths my feet have trod,
since first their course began;
feed me, thou Bread of God;
help me, thou Son of Man.

For still the desert lies
my thirsting soul before;
O living waters, rise
within me evermore.


Words: John Samuel Bewley Monsell, Jr., 1866

Meter: 66 66

DRAW NIGH AND TAKE THE BODY OF THE LORD

Draw nigh and take the Body of the Lord,
and drink the holy Blood for you outpoured.

Saved by that Body and that precious Blood,
with souls refreshed, we render thanks to God.

Salvation’s Giver, Christ, the only Son,
by his dear Cross and Blood the victory won.

Offered was he for greatest and for least,
himself the Victim, and himself the Priest.

Victims were offered by the law of old,
which in a type this heavenly mystery foretold.

He, Ransomer, from death, and Light from shade,
now gives his holy grace his saints to aid;

Approach ye then with faithful hearts sincere,
and take the safeguard of salvation here.

He that in this world rules his saints and shields,
to all believers life eternal yields.

With heavenly bread makes them that hunger whole,
gives living waters to the thirsting soul.

Alpha and Omega, to whom shall bow
all nations at the Doom, is with us now.


Words: Latin, seventh century;
trans. John Mason Neale, 1851

Meter: 10 10

 

Do you like hymns? Share the ones you like/love.

 

Bubbles of Love 💞💞💕💕

Tamie

 

 

PS : Last wednesday marked the beginning of Lent. It’s usually observed by the orthodox churches.  The lent period starts from Ash Wednesday to Saturday before Easter. It’s usually observed as a period prayer, fasting,  penance,  repentance, self denial, moderation.

Post inspired by Requ1ne

 

9 thoughts on “Of Hymns: I hunger and I thirst || Draw nigh and take

  1. Awwwh…good to know.
    I used to be a fan of hymns….as a teenager I would spend hours with a hymnal. Relieving such memories give me nostalgia.
    Most modern churches don’t sing as much hymns.
    “Peace be still” is one of my top favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I love hymns.
    My church doesn’t joke with hymns and I can see why. It can reach deep within your soul and stir your spirit when you sing. And the wordings, so apt and real. It captures people emotions at the moment of writing vividly.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love Hymns too and thank God my current church still sings hymns. Their lyrics are complete sermons for me and I often catch myself reflecting on the deep meanings and messages they carry in their stanza.

    My favourites are “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” “Trust And Obey” and “Onward Christian Soldier”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

